EGADS! THINGS PEOPLE SAY DURING INTERVIEWS


HIRING MANAGERS

Here are some red flags to listen for during an applicant’s interview:

The candidate says:

“I didn’t see eye to eye with my boss.”

“Why not? What happens if I want things done my way?”

“My boss was difficult.”

“If you believe your last work environment was difficult, what about ours?”

“I had too much work.”

Does this mean you were slow? Not a team player? Unable to handle your workload?

“I worked too many hours.”

Does this mean you won’t work hard for us? This position requires that you give your all

What people say about past employers can be insightful.


JOB SEEKERS

You feel an immediate sense of rapport with the interviewer. This feels like a good sign!

Remember, the interviewer is not your friend. Do not divulge too much personal information that isn’t pertinent to the job. Keep the conversation professional. Every word counts.

For example, if you just got out of rehab – don’t share! Family issues? Don’t share!

Things NOT to say during an interview:

  • I didn’t see eye to eye with my boss
  • My boss was difficult
  • I didn’t like my co-workers.
  • I had too much work
  • I worked too many hours

It’s OK to articulate that you don’t like the commute, the pay, or the atmosphere. No matter how unhappy you were in your current or last position, this is not the time to vent.